Home > Gary Rotto, Lifestyles > This Jewish single dad wonders what to do on Christmas Eve

This Jewish single dad wonders what to do on Christmas Eve

December 21, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

By Gary Rotto

SAN DIEGO-I did my neighborly duty and helped my neighbors celebrate Christmas on Sunday night.  For our immediate neighborhood, we have an annual “Holiday Lights” judging party, in which families get together for an hour, roam the neighborhood together and judge the light displays.  Yes, holiday lights as several neighbors tried to make the event more inclusive, thinking that maybe I would put up blue and white lights.  I would have put my menorah in the window, but the timing of the holidays did not overlap the judging event this year.  It was very thoughtful and I thanked them, but I think it’s okay to call them Christmas lights.  So for those who participate, the top three displays receive a sign recognizing their accomplishment.  Especially because I don’t have a display, they like me or one of our other “impartial” neighbors to serve as a judge. Deed done, Christmas done in my mind. 

But then there is the question of what to do on Christmas Eve.  I’m part of a nascent, informal group of Jewish single parents centered in North County.  We get together for Shabbat dinners or an occasional family event like our campfire Havdallah last month.  Many of us don’t have our kids on Christmas Eve and would like to get together.  I remember attending one of the first “What do Jewish Singles have to Do on Christmas Eve” parties at the JCC a number of years ago.  At that time, our group of 15 young adults – called Hands on San Diego – decided to start a community service-focused group but also decided to start the Christmas Eve party.  And the event has grown over the years leaving the JCC years ago for digs downtown.  It has matured into a very upscale event at a posh club downtown.  And has grown so much so, that a private organization has taken over the planning of the “Let My People Go” party.  This year, they have a strict age restriction – no one over 39.  Which is probably a good thing so that us 40-something guys will stop trying to hit on the 20-something gals who really would like to meet the almost-30-something guys.  

So where does that leave our group of youthful singles.  The Chinese dinner is scheduled for the next day, so what can we do on Thursday night?  The North Coast Rep is dark that evening, same for the National Comedy Theater.  Maybe we could meet for a deli dinner?  But Elijah’s closes at 4pm and Milton’s even earlier.    I’m struggling here … even the Karl Strauss Brewing company in Carlsbad closes at 9pm.  So any good suggestions?    I guess next year, we could move the display judging to the 24th and have a truly impartial group providing the tally. 

 *
Rotto is a freelance writer based in San Diego.  He may be contacted at rottog@sandiegojewishworld.com, or you can leave a comment below

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment